Getting fit

6 11 2011

I didn’t make a New Year’s real resolution this year*.  I simply vowed to be better – physically, emotionally, spiritually, academically.  But, in January when the gyms were full of folks trying to stick to their resolutions, I was home chillin.  I refused to be a part of the madness.  I wanted to get in better shape but I didn’t want to get caught up in the NY hype.  I waited 6 weeks (’cause that’s when a lot of folks start to drop off) and started searching for a new gym.

I found CrossFit Cleveland, an affiliate of CrossFit that’s near my apartment.  CrossFit is a strength and conditioning program that focuses on increasing competence in 10 distinct areas (cardio and respiratory endurance, stamina, strength, flexibility, power, speed, coordination, agility, balance, and accuracy).  Each CF affiliate creates a daily WOD (workout of the day) that members complete, usually for time.  All workouts are scaled to the person’s individual abilities.  For example, pullups are often a part of the workout and can be done as ring rows or with elastic bands to assist.

In short, I love CrossFit.  I’ve become a gym rat thanks to them.  I workout 5 days a week, sometimes twice a day between CrossFit Cleveland and CTown Crossfit.  Since February, I’ve lost 12 pounds and I’ve gained a ton of strength.  My body is changing still, but I don’t look like a bodybuilder.  I like it.

It’s expensive, but I think it’s worth it.  I was never able to motivate myself to do much at other gyms.  At CrossFit, the workout is planned for me and there’s always a trainer there to teach me the movements, correct my form or scale the exercise.  I need that attention.

Most CF affiliates offer free classes so you can try it before you invest.  I highly recommend it.

*after briefly browsing my own blog, I realized I did make a resolution. :-/

Actions

Information

3 responses

7 11 2011
Mel

Lemme find out Coop gettin’ diesel up in the OH!

9 11 2011
*Coop*

Noooooo! Not diesel, Mel!! Toned. I’m not trying to look like a freaking bodybuilder. No bueno, homie!

KSC (Sent from my mobile device. Please excuse my typos.)

10 11 2011
Mel

I know, I know. I kid.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

