Friends. How many of us have them?

24 10 2006

We all know the song, right?  Sing it with me.  1, 2, 3…

Friends
How many of us have them?
Friends
Ones we can depend on
Friends
How many of us have them?
Friends

But truthfully, how many of us do have them?  People we really can call on when times are hard?  Back in the 2nd grade, you thought the person who shared their fat red pencil was your friend.  In middle school, it was the person who let you share their locker.  In high school, it was that chick who ALWAYS let you cut in the lunch line.

Is a word we use everyday
Most the time we use it in the wrong way
Now you can look the word up, again and again
But the dictionary doesn’t know the meaning of friends

But what about now?  Who’s a friend now?  Well I’m glad you asked!

And if you ask me, you know, I couldn’t be much help
Because a friend is somebody you judge for yourself
Some are ok, and they treat you real cool
But some mistake kindness for bein a fool

Friends are those who…
support you no matter how lofty your goals are.
help you rationalize those goals without discouraging you.
believe in you when you don’t believe in yourself.
have given you 100 reasons to believe in them.
have your back when that broad tests you.
you will fight a 6’5″, 260lb negro for.
help you deal with things you aren’t prepared for.
show you that you’re prepared to deal with anything.
you can call their parents for advice.
call you for advice…and listen.
pray with and for you.
hold the umbrella over you while you call uncle earl outside of waffle house in the rain.
let you cry for hours over a TV show.
quote “O Brother Where are thou” and “Dodgeball” with you.
respect you.
love you.

We like to be with some, because they’re funny
Others come around when they need some money
Some you grew up with, around the way
And you’re still real close too this very day

We all know people.  Most of have tons of associates, but how many friends do you have?  When you realize who they are, be sure to tell them.  I love my friends…and I know I wouldn’t be who I am today without them.

Homeboys through the Summer, Winter, Spring and Fall
And then there’s some we wish we never knew at all
And this list goes on, again and again
But these are the people that we call friends

So, to all my crews (SSMS Divas, Russell High All-Stars, Gainesville Hustlas, EP crew, Magnet folks, GState, PHirst PHam, the only PHAmily, EBC folks and all of Tri-High):  I got much love for you.  But my friends made me into who I am today.  I love y’all!!

Friends
How many of us have them?
Friends
Ones we can depend on
Friends
How many of us have them?
Friends

I probably could’ve picked a better song, but you get what I’m saying!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

