Real love

4 07 2007

Today at work I met an amazing family-2 dads, a daughter and a son. Now, I meet a lot of same-sex families while I’m there. I mean, it’s a place for kids in the heart of midtown Atlanta! But these guys were SO nice. Not in a naive way though, just nice. The kids were very well-behaved and polite (which is more than I can say for others). And both dads chatted it up with me for a while about their kids, how the son just broke his collarbone and is shy, while the daughter is much more out-going. When they walked away, I just started crying. Why? Because I can’t accept people being mean to them because they’re gay. I just can’t. Not only that, but I was imagining some of the bull sh!t they must have gone through to be parents and to have the same last name. It’s just not fair to me.

I couldn’t help but think of this quote, from Steven Weinberg:
With or without religion, you would have good people doing good things and evil people doing evil things. But for good people to do evil things, that takes religion. Wow, right?

I think religion is inherently good. But the people in them are flawed at not. Religion is belief, folks united for their cause essentially, usually for God. So how did religion become a mechanism through which we oppress, humiliate, judge and kill other people? Whose god approves that? I just can’t accept that god, gods, God or any combination of the 3 would permit you to discriminate against 2 people who can and will provide an excellent quality of life for children. I don’t accept that your higher belief allows you to publicly degrade and humiliate people. I don’t accept it. Especially from a Gucci wearing, charismatic mega-church “preacher”. *ahem* Let me be the first to say that it’s just not right.
And I don’t stand for that.

God is love. That’s real love. Period.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

