Barcelona boys, lots o’ books & I’m a bit bummed

27 09 2007

Wednesday night at “The Venue” is the night for the Spanish party. We wanted to go out and do something, so we went there again. Fun times! I met some more crazy guys, this time from Barcelona (yellow shirt and white shirt with neck scarf). They were some interesting characters, I’ll just say. Inyaki, our flat-mate from Spain, joined us there when he got off work. I was a bit jealous because he knew all the words to all the songs. 😦 I definitely need to brush up on my basic Spanish vocabulary.

The stack of books is my reading for one week…for one class. Well, not all of all of the books, but 2-3 chapters each. Again, one class. There’s a different stack of books for next week. Luckily there are plenty of used texts in the library. I feel so bad for ever complaining about the readings in Willoughby or Twombly. This is gonna be a rough term! And my PhD letter is not making the progress that I need. I’m stressed about it and I have serious writers block. I even sent my friend MG (who has recently started her doctoral studies at GWU) a slightly panicked email begging for assistance. It’s really hard to put on paper in one page why you deserve to work towards a doctoral degree at an institution, a good one at that. I mean, it’s like an interview-you tell them what they want to hear, they accept you and hope within the first few months that they didn’t make a mistake! I’m desperately trying to find a way to inject my personality and passion for nonprofits and NGO research into this doggone thing and it’s really, really getting the best of me. It’s only 1 page, but it’s such an important page. *sigh* Oh, woe is me, I know, I know. Moving on…

On a happier note, I think we may take a long weekend trip up to Scotland in 2 or 3 weeks. Fun, fun, fun! I really hope the plans work out. Wish us luck. I might just get to see Paolo Nutini’s home town or where Oswald Chambers started his good work.

By the way, can someone tell me if the Braves made the playoffs? I know I can search the net, but I want someone from home to tell me!

More pics.




Actions

Information

One response

28 09 2007
steph

ummm… no ma’am. the braves are chillin at home.

Leave a Reply

