The word whore

25 10 2007

Hello. My name is *Coop* and I’m a word whore.
Hi *Coop*!

…not in that OutKast “shawty, I wanna f*ck yo’ rims” kinda way, but in a way that…well, in a different way.

You see, I’m a writer, a reader, a lover of letters, words, sounds, similes, metaphors, punctuation, prose and poetry. I can (and often do) spend hours at a time reading stuff-books, blogs, lyrics, stories-all the while listening to words in song. These words and languages mean a lot to me. I like to talk sometimes and often find myself in the midst of verbal conversations of varying degrees of intellectual depth. But I’ve always cherished the written word. Why?

I believe it goes back to being the only child in a household for 25 years. I was a shy little one and didn’t easily trust folks. So, I stayed locked in my room with my books instead of playing outside (this explains my erratic development of social skills!). I wrote lots of poems and stories, entered lots of writing contests and won a bunch of spelling bees. Today, I still find solace in the written language and how any and every emotion you (n)ever knew you had can be conveyed through writing.

Today, I write everywhere. It has healing powers. I put my initials on all of my belongings. I scribble notes on everything that’s not stapled down. I log thoughts on a few websites. I’ve even emblazoned my skin with my name. I write in different places in different styles, knowing that different people will (not) see it. I like to cater to my audiences! But I constantly write, nonetheless. I always want to capture the moment I had “that” thought. If anyone would ever compile all of these writings, it would be a very interesting accidental autobiography.

Seriously, I appreciate honest thoughts and that’s what my writing is. Sometimes, I share and often I keep it to myself. It’s just a way for me to say what I can’t say verbally for fear of rejection, embarrassment or ineffective communication of the real issue at hand. No one interrupts you when you write! Think of your favorite song. Imagine if they (Donny Hathaway for me ) had tried to say those beautiful words to someone in person…to a person who maybe didn’t want to hear it, or didn’t take them seriously, or simply didn’t have the open mind to listen. We might never have “Someday we’ll all be free” or “By your side” or “No one” or “Gone” or any other song that’s communicated exactly how you’ve felt. You dig?

So my obsession with music and magazines, articles and abstract thoughts is much more than a hobby. It’s my life. It’s who I am and who I’ve always been. I have a strong appreciation for how people express their feelings (passion, hope, desire, pain, joy) and I moreso appreciate them for sharing it with me.

“Write” on! J

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

