Darkness comes…

4 11 2007

*formatting is jacked up from importing from blogspot. sorry*

We recently changed our clocks here, maybe it was a week ago. Now, it starts to get dark at 4pm. How depressing!! By 6:30 it’s very dark and you feel like you should be in bed…but you still have work to do. It’s awful. Everyone’s tired earlier now. I’d heard of people getting depressed by lack of sun; I understand it now. One good thing is that the weather has been nice-only mildly cool and not much rain. The lack of sun is the worse though. Moving on…

On Halloween, Hannes carved a Jack-o-lantern and Yvonne made soup. It was my first time trying pumpkin soup. It was very good! There was so much soup that we thought we’d be eating it for a week. Clearly we forgot that there are 7 hungry people in the flat. The soup didn’t last 2 days!

Last night, Kamila and I went to catch some UK live music (rap, jungle, drum & bass) at the same place we saw Rahzel. It was cool. I didn’t know any of the people performing, so I was a bit disconnected. There were about 4 or 5 acts in all. Still, it was nice to go to a live show.

I checked out some novels from the library to clear my mind of all the academic articles and mumbo-jumbo it’s been clouded with. This week, I got:

  • “The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe” by C. S. Lewis (never read it as a child and loved every page of it)
  • “Slaughterhouse 5” by Kurt Vonnegut (a very funny and easy to read book that’s basically about the bombing of Dresden, Germany in WWII and the planet Tralfamadore. You have to read it to understand. Thousands of people died. So it goes.)
  • “The Bluest Eye” by Toni Morrison (never read it. I was going to get some Alice Walker, but I’d already read all of her books in the library here)
  • “Animal Farm” by George Orwell (never read it. I think I was supposed to read it in high school. Cliffs Notes!!)
  • “The Jungle” by Upton Sinclair (never read it. A classmate mentioned it last week.)
  • “Astonishing the Gods” by Ben Okri (I liked the was the cover looked in the library)
  • “Native Son” by Richard Wright (I’ve had Steph’s copy for way too long. Still haven’t read it.)

PLUS
“The Autobiography of Malcolm X” which I still haven’t finished and “Their Eyes Were Watching God” by Zora Neale Hurston, another book I skipped reading in high school.
If a book doesn’t grab me in the first 10-15 pages, I tend to leave it alone and never go back. That’s why I get so many books at once. And, no, none of these books have anything to do with my classes here.

Now I’m off to finish some work if my energy and motivation doesn’t leave me.

Actions

Information

2 responses

5 11 2007
steph

i tell you what… DST was saturday night. sunday, i woke up at 3:30a and went to sleep at 7:45p. it was awful. I woke up again at 3:45 monday morning. i can only imagine what you’re going through. I go “nite nite” with the sun.

6 11 2007
Babs

I love drum and bass! and garage!

Leave a Reply

