More darkness, more cooking!

8 11 2007

Well I wish I could say there’s been more sunlight. Unfortunately, there hasn’t. This is the view from my window at 5pm:

That little speck of light is a light shining on the gym wall.

And the wind has gotten out of control. I mean, it’s so strong that it stops you in your tracks. And at night, it sounds like there’s a tornado right outside the window. Poor Hannes even had problems going to sleep one night because of it. It reminds me of this record I had when I was little, “Winnie the Pooh and the Very Blustery Day”. I wonder where that record is now…

Anyway, I’ve still been doing a little cooking here and there. Yesterday I got a craving for some fries. I remembered that I had some potatoes, so I made some fries. They tasted pretty good too. I just didn’t know how to make they stay separated in the oil. I even cooked them in sunflower oil so it was a little healthier!

There are a few onions in there too. Just wanted to see what it would taste like.

This is just some veggies (zucchini, onion, garlic, mushrooms, red pepper) sauteed in sunflower seed oil with fresh slices of tomato. I didn’t want a tomato sauce, but I wanted tomato flavor. You know!

I also made a tomato sauce with my fave veggies (zucchini, onion, mushrooms) by sauteeing them with garlic, then adding a can of peeled tomatoes that I chopped. Just let it simmer for a few minutes and add some basic seasoning (salt and pepper or “herbes de provence” mix) and it’s an easy dinner. If you put too much seasoning, just add some tomato paste to the sauce. I also added tofu for a bit of protein, but Yvonne adds ham to hers. She taught me how to make it.

I eat white or brown rice at almost every meal, both here and back home. It makes the meal feel more complete and makes it last longer. There was something else I made that I was pretty proud of. Can’t remember what it was, and I didn’t take pics. Oh well!

Next week is a “reading week” for me so I don’t have class…which is a good thing! I have assignments due the following week here at Northumbria, a paper due to GSU on the 15th and I want to have all my doctoral applications completed and in the mail by the 16th. It’s crunch time. Wish me luck.

For now, I’ll play with my new toy…Thunderbird!

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 11 2007
Anonymous

Congratulations for using Thunderbird 😉

Hannes

9 11 2007
Steph

hhmmmm…. what does fried potatoes and onions taste like??? probably hashbrowns or fried potatoes and onions. but i get your drift. i’m proud of you getting your “groove on” in the kitchen. you’ve gotta make something when you get back. Zack and I loooooove to eat (especially food we didn’t have to cook)!!!

Leave a Reply

