Chivalry and Southern Hospitality revisited

4 12 2007

Start here.

*sigh*

First of all, calm down, take a deep breathe and chill. *deep breathe in…long slow breathe out*

Secondly, listen and comprehend. The last thing I was really talking about was old ladies. I was encouraging you to question tradition: why is this done this way? Maybe I wasn’t clear, but here it is again: Jesse expected Obama to be in Louisiana, Betty expects me to relinquish my seat, some people (removing all gender specificity) expect people to do things for them that they can do themselves. Why is there so much expectation without real obligation? We do it (or not), but we’re not mandated. Even worse, when we don’t, we’re looked down upon. But if I decline, I’m not breaking the law, just mores.

Thirdly, yes I do respect marriage as an institution. My institution works with 2 equal parties. No, I have never been married and don’t plan to be anytime soon. I have seen many marriages and relationships fail. Heck, I’m a product of a failed marriage. So I do know a little about what makes them not work.

Yes, I know I will be an old lady one day. Yes, I know my grandmother was an old lady. No, I don’t want to be disrespected when I am an old lady. Yes, I understand that I don’t speak for everyone. No, I never tried to. No, I am not disrespecting your marital union. Yes, I know I’m young. No, I am not Republican (lol). Yes, this is all my opinion. No, I won’t apologize. No, I’m not ultra-feminist (that I know of).

I really just want us, US, to get away from doing things based only on tradition and because relatives before us did the same thing. Traditional often defies logic.

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

