Preachers’ kids and Gainesville, Florida

10 12 2007

I’ve intentionally stayed away from all American sports websites. I didn’t want to be teased by college football records, the confusion with the BCS or who’s the front-runner for the Heisman. I’ve allowed myself to substitute rugby and European football (soccer) for my favorite sports. It works as long as I don’t know what’s going on in the states. Well, I recently learned that Gator Nation’s own Tim Tebow won the Heisman! GO GATORS! I was born into Gator Nation, but matriculated in, uh…Panthersville.

I finally allowed myself to venture to ESPN’s website. *angels singing* How much stuff have I missed? I mean I’ve missed an entire NFL season, the Miami Heat suck, the (cheating) NE Patriots are undefeated and the Celtics are the old new kids on the block. I’m so out of touch with the world of sports…but just give me time!

Back to Tebow, ESPN states that the 3 Gator quarterbacks to win (Spurrier, Wuerffel and Tebow) were all sons of ministers. How coincidental is that? So not only is the UF a great place to go for an education, it’s a great place for preachers to send their sons to play football! 🙂 Tebow fans are insane. There are even sites dedicated to “Tebowisms”. It’s hilarious! Here’s a sampling:

  • Tim Tebow can win a game of Connect Four in only three moves.
  • If the show “24” had Tim Tebow it would be “1”.
  • Jesus wears a WWTD bracelet.
  • Tim Tebow always knows the exact location of Carmen SanDiego.
  • If you Google “Tim Tebow getting his ass kicked” it will generate zero results. It just doesn’t happen.
  • Superman wears Tim Tebow pajamas.
  • Tim Tebow’s tears cure cancer. Too bad Tim Tebow has never cried.

Funny stuff. The Chuck Norris fans had it first.

I’m really happy that Tebow has decided to stay in for his next 2 years. I’m also happy Colt Brennan came back for his senior season. He has crazy arm strength, but I worry about him adjusting to the NFL. I wish him the best. He had a rough time getting to where he is now: lots of academic and disciplinary problems that basically left Hawaii as his only choice for school. And I wish Darren McFadden would complete his senior season as well, but I know that’s not going to happen. By the way, whoever’s having a Sugar Bowl party, I’m there. Hawaii vs. UGA. GO HAWAII!

I really wish UF and Hawaii would have played in 2007. So, who’s the Heisman front-runner for 2008?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

