2008 To-Do List

2 01 2008

It’s hard to believe that the year is over. 2007 has been fantastic for me. I re-focused on school and was rewarded, I traveled to 6 countries, I’ve gotten MUCH more comfortable in my own skin, I started my locs (finally!), I ended and got over that, I got my nose pierced, I earned a new respect for my friends and I, well, raised my standards. I also read a lot of books, wrote a lot, met some really cool people (including the cutest little 18 year old English drummer. Yeah, I know) and hopefully made my family proud. I didn’t start the year with any real plan of where I wanted to be at year’s end, but I do remember saying a few times that 2007 would be a year of discovery for me, that I would learn a lot about myself because I would be forced to. I was right!

So, I read quite a few blogs regularly. Two of my favorites are Post Secret and The To-Do List Blog. I’ve been inspired and even though I know this is doomed from the start, I have a little to-do list for 2008. In no particular order, I would like to:

  1. Move to a new city
  2. Begin a doctoral program (goes with #1)
  3. Get a new tattoo
  4. Give people a reason to smile
  5. Learn to do my own hair
  6. Read one non-academic book each month
  7. Begin learning a new language
  8. Spend less time watching television
  9. Increase my collection of old school rap/hip-hop
  10. Stop eating food with preservatives
  11. Dedicate time to a craft (painting, photography, sewing)
  12. Exercise regularly (isn’t that on everyone’s list?)
  13. Purchase (and use) some kitchen items
    • bread maker
    • electric kettle
    • pasta maker
    • a new wok
    • Reduce dept and increase savings
  14. Travel (Seattle, Fiji, Belize, Philadelphia or Toronto)
  15. Get a dog
  16. Say “I love you” more
  17. Eliminate fast foods from my diet (but that doesn’t include lemonade FYI)
  18. Grow a plant (tomatoes would be nice)
  19. Rely less on my car

There may be more, but that’s the list today.

I’m looking forward to 2008, not in the same way I was excited about 2007. I remember exactly where I was at 11:59 p.m. 12/31/07 (at church, scared as I-don’t-know-what because New Year’s Eve indoors with a lot of people has always frightened me). ’08 will be a year of … I don’t really know what. But, I’m excited anyway! What are you going to do to make 2008 a great year?

Best wishes to you and your family. Happy New Year!!  I have so much more blogging to do.  🙂

Actions

Information

4 responses

2 01 2008
Babs

Let me give you a tip, young grasshopper. Don’t get the breadmaker. HUge waste of money. I had one once. Used it like 3 times!

Happy New Year!

2 01 2008
coopdeville

Really? hmm…well, it’s not like I knew how to use it anyway. Thanks for the advice.

7 01 2008
Meikmeika

My bread maker sucks!! I didn’t pay attention to the fact that the machine doesn’t shape the bread like your average bread loaf. The bread comes out huge and wide, it won’t fit in the toaster and is a burden when making sandwiches…sigh.. I will say this though, I absolutely detest kneading, so when I make pizza, pretzels, bread, garlic knots, bagels or any type of dough I place all ingredients in the bread machine on the dough setting and everything comes out amazing.

I still have yet to make an 08 to-do list and it’s probably for the better. Good Luck!!!

P.S. The not eating fast food is a hard one!

8 01 2008
coopdeville

Fast food is very hard. I forgot I put it on there. 😦

Leave a Reply

