Sisterlocks at 11 months

2 01 2008

I LOVE my hair! I can definitely see some serious maturity and growth. I’m beginning to imagine some new styles and accessories for my hair.

I finally got a retightening on the 18th after 3 months without one. This retightening took *brace yourself* 6 hours! I’m usually in and out of there in 2 but there was much more hair for her to work with. I felt so bad ’cause it was my mom’s birthday too.

I’m extremely, EXTREMELY tender-headed and I cringe, flinch and grind my teeth with every move she makes in my head. I’ve been like this as long as I’ve been natural, possibly all of my life. After 2 days, my head was no longer tender and I enjoyed a long 4 time wash, condition and green tea shampoo treatment.

Here’s a picture of my hair pre-retightening on graduation day:

Here I am in the middle of the marathon session:

That’s a lot of growth in 3 months.

Before washing, I have to braid and band (b&b) my locs until they mature a little more.

The back of my hair before the wash

All b&b’ed. It’s a good way to scare someone at night. Walk in their room with braids sticking straight up in the air. It’s very Celie-esque.

After the wash

Now this is a problem. I noticed some build-up in some locs in the very back.

Honestly, I’ve never looked at these locs like this because I always wear it all down. Now that it’s growing and new styling options are appearing, I tried a few up-dos. Well, this is not cool…and I don’t know where it came from and how long it’s been there. It’s only in the back and it makes me feel like my hair is nasty. 😦

Does anyone have tips of how to get rid of it? I might just pull out the Sharpie pen like Brunsli.

Actions

Information

13 responses

7 01 2008
Meikmeika

What products do you use on your locks?

If you saturate your hair with undiluted Apple Cider Vinegar and let it sit for atleast 30 mins it will loosen the build-up. Rinse it out for 5 mins and continue with your usual shampoo regimen. I usually do it once a month just in case I have any build-up but when I initially started doing the ACV rinse I did it everytime I would wash my hair until the build-up was gone.

Hope this helps.

8 01 2008
coopdeville

I only use the SL starter and SL green tea shampoo.
I’m going to give the ACV regiment a try. Thanks for the advice!

17 01 2008
Mel

I love your hair!!! I’m about to get sisterlocks. I plan on making the appointment with the consultant sometime within the next week.

18 01 2008
*Coop*

Good luck Mel! You’ll love them. I wish I would have done it earlier!

20 01 2008
Girlfriend

Love your hair. My hair has been locked since 1999. It was a lesson in patience.

21 01 2008
Mel

Will do. I’m calling the consultant tomorrow.

12 10 2008
Steph

thanks for posting ur pics! I need the inspiration. I am 3 months w/out perms, hoping to get sisterlocks in June 2009. I am getting so frustrated with my hair in this transition stage and have to fight the urge to perm it. Your hair is beautiful and I hope to be able to c myself thru to the end.

24 02 2009
sunflowernbklyn

nice pictures and nice locs. aaaaaaaaaaaah, a little envious i just started mine on sunday.

21 03 2009
*Coop*

Thanks! Believe me, the growth will come. 🙂

23 03 2012
Grace A. Onyango

Hey *coop*, Just wondering if the ACV worked. I have the same build up at the back of my sisterlocks!!! I am very unhappy with that!!! Let me know what you did and if you got it out..Pleeeeeeaaaase.

23 03 2012
Coop DuJour

Hey Grace! I never even tried it! Coop

2 12 2012
online accounting degree programs

Pretty! This has been an incredibly wonderful post. Thank you for supplying this info.

14 12 2012
diets that work

Hi i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anywhere, when i read this
post i thought i could also make comment due to this brilliant post.

Leave a Reply

