Smack that?

16 01 2008

There’s much to be said about discretion.

So I’m listening to AOL radio today at work. Three songs in a row come on: Marques Houston’s “sex with you” from the “naked” album, something by Jagged Edge where the chorus goes “I love it when you grind on me” and Akon’s “smack that”.That’s not hot y’all!! Vulgarity and overt sexual language declaring to the world how you wanna mount a woman is not the business.

I understand that you REALLY love the girl and your love is manifesting itself in physical changes in your body. BUT subtlety is key, homie.

Take note from a truly gifted songwriter.

Donny Hathaway “For all we know”

For all we know
We may never meet again
Before you go
Make this moment sweet again

We won’t say goodnight
Until the last minute
I’ll hold out my hand
And my heart will be in it

For all we know
This may only be a dream
We come and we go
Like the ripples of a stream

So love me, love me tonight
tomorrow was made for some
tomorrow may never come

Yeah, he could’ve called it “i wanna have sex” or “we be knockin’ boots” or “grinding all up on dat” but he didn’t…and I like it! Let’s leave “smack that” in 2007. OK?

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 01 2008
Meikmeika

This is why I don’t listen to the radio anymore…or watch BET/MTV/VH1 for that matter…

20 01 2008
*Coop*

Ditto. It’s getting ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

