Invitation

23 03 2008

Where the Sidewalk Ends - cover

INVITATION

If you are a dreamer, come in.
If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar,
A hope-er, a pray-er, a magic bean buyer . . .
If you’re a pretender, come sit by my fire,
For we have some flax golden tales to spin.
Come in!
Come in!”

This is the first poem in Shel Silverstein’s book “Where the Sidewalk Ends”. It’s one of my favorite books of all time. It was given to me by my 3rd grade teacher, Mrs. Anita Stallings, and I will NEVER forget her! As I was searching the web for a picture of the ink drawing that accompanied the poem, I came across DanScott77’s page. He said the poem “should be on the door of every church, home, or community in the world. ’nuff said.” I agree.

I truly believe this book began my love of reading. I have most of the pages memorized from the book. It’s so much fun to read! I’ve even given the book to kids I know, including my oldest niece.

If you ever need a good gift for a kid, consider any of Mr. Silverstein’s books. They’re great.

Here’s another favorite that’s relevant for kids and adults:
Hug o’ war

What were your favorite books as a kid?

Actions

Information

10 responses

23 03 2008
ALLIENICOLE

ahhh there was this old one … i think it was called SIGN OF THE SEAHORSE or SEAFISH or something…it was this EXTAVAGANT tale about these seahorses and underwater creatures and all that jazz…i feel like my Dad read it to us for yearssss. man i miss that book!

23 03 2008
dan scott

Hey, thanks for the link love!

I’d have to go with Green Eggs and Ham – Dr. Seuss… I could have that read to me over and over again, and still laugh every time. Now, I love reading to my own kids.

24 03 2008
Brit

This seriously made my day. I remember having this book around 3rd grade too. I was a huge reader (still am) back then….loved everything from The Babysitters Club to the Boxcar Children and a ton of African fables. Dang, those were the days…..have a fab upcoming Monday, Coop!

24 03 2008
MissB

AHHHHHHHHHH!!! This is my absolute favorite book!!!

I actually bought the anniversary book a last year its on my coffee table!!!

Nice blog!!!

24 03 2008
Eb

Goosebumps, babysitter’s club

24 03 2008
thaboogiemonsta

I’d have to say Dr. Seuss’ Green Eggs and Ham and The Butter Battle Book…my mom used to read them to me all the time.

24 03 2008
Kiera

Babysister’s Club, Sweet Valley High, Goosebumps, Fear Street.

Green Eggs and Ham.

Awww…the memories.

25 03 2008
Sassy

This was def one of my favs. In 4th grade we had to choose and memorize a poem. I chose from Silverstein’s book, “Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout would not take the garbage out, she’d scour the pots and scrape the pans, candy the yams and spice the hams, and though her father would scream and shout, she would not take the garbage out…” It was the word scheme that I loved so much. Ah, good times.

Found you on 20somethings!

25 03 2008
Erica C.

Ok, you’re bringing back A LOT of memories with this book!

30 03 2008
Butwheaty

Anything written by Beverly Cleary was a favorite of mine. I need to buy those for my daughter!

Leave a Reply

