Purple Ribbon Pirouettes review

13 04 2008

In short, I loved it.  “big” was, well…big!

We got there a little late, but walked in to see a stage of Atlanta Ballet cast members dancing their hearts out to popular OutKast songs.  It was different.  We chilled in the back of the Fox, watching from a distance until intermission.  I was excited to see Big Boi performing in person, along with Sleepy Brown, Janelle Monae and other Purple Ribbon folk.  It was a bit difficult at first (I’ll admit) to piece together the songs I was already so familiar with plus classical pieces and the ballet’s choreography.  But the full orchestra, moving images on the backdrop and the dancers tried hard to remain relevant to all parties (old, young, ballet fans and hip hop heads).

The second half is what blew me away.  If I was only able to see one piece, “Liberation” was absolutely, totally, 100% worth my money.  As soon as the track began to play, I started crying.  It’s THAT deep!  lol
Onve Keisha Jackson and Joi came out with BIG RUBE (what?!?!?!), it was over.  It was, without a doubt, the best receiver piece of the entire show.  It was awsome.

If they take in nationwide, I think it’s worth going to see, especially if you’re a Kast fan.  It was fantastic.

That’s my 2 cents! 

BTW, Janelle Monae has gotten lots of attention lately for being signed to Bad Boy.  Chick isn’t a new artist.  She’s been around for a minute and she’s had an EP out for a while too.  She’s also on that “Got Purp”.  AND Joi’s “Star Kitty Revenge” is heroin for your ears.  Go get it yesterday.

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 04 2008
turquoisesha

I just got Metropolis Suite I of IV: The Chase. I haven’t listened to it yet. I think I’ll give it a listen while I pore over this lovely research paper.

14 04 2008
*Coop*

Let me know what you think of it. It’s really cool!

14 04 2008
thaboogiemonsta

OMGness yes! Everyone went crazy over Janelle’s moonwalk…and she kept it going across the whole stage!

Leave a Reply

