Guilty pleasure #1: Reality tv

29 04 2008

Everyone has guilty pleasures, right?  Some folks like extra corny music.  Some folks like pig feet or some crazy food.  My #1 guilty pleasure is reality tv, but not like The Real World or Dancing with the Stars or even American Idol. I LOVE shows like A Baby Story, The First 48, Bringing Home Baby, Snapped and pretty much anything else on TLC and A&E.  You know the shows where there’s just a camera following folks around – totally unscripted.  It borders on obsession.

Here’s the thing, I’ve been addicted to A Baby Story for forever.  I don’t know when it started, but I remember being in school and making sure I was in front of the television at 2pm and 2:30pm to watch it.  I’m still doing just that.  And it’s such a gross show!  I mean, you watch these poor women scream and shout and curse and push out these yucky babies.  I guess it’s the miracle of life, but man…I get all caught up.  I’m talking about counting with the doctors and holding my breath as the moms push.  But I don’t realize I’m doing it at the time.  Not until they stop pushing and I’m out of breath does it register.  lol

Bringing Home Baby is like the 36 hours after A Baby Story.  I think I like getting a sneak peek into people’s lives.  I dunno.  But The First 48 is something serious.  There are always 2 homicides being investigated and you follow the cops during (you guessed it) the first 48 hours because the chances of solving a case are severely diminished after the first 2 days following.

So…that’s my #1 guilty pleasure, reality tv on the idiot box.

Do you have any guilty pleasures?

Actions

Information

5 responses

29 04 2008
stephanie

I’m really into “Flavor of Love” (which I watch religiously) and LUSH bath products!!! I bought some Fig and Leaves soap from LUSH on my honeymoon and still have a whole bar left. I didn’t want to use it all up because I didn’t know if we had one in ATL. I found out a few months ago that there’s two Lush stores in Lenox but I still haven’t used that one bar I got last August). I cherish those soap bars and bath bombs like people cherish candles they won’t burn.

29 04 2008
Babs

Hmm, I guess Bad Girls. Oh and Girls Next Door.

29 04 2008
Meikmeika

I’m addicted to the Food Network which is sad since the majority of the foods made I don’t eat…. My bf thinks I’m a nut case for watching Paula Dean…

29 04 2008
Brit

Okay…I freakin’ love Bringing Home Baby…Mom’s all stressed out, Mother-in-law is too over-bearing, Dad won’t change the diaper….I love it!

23 05 2008
*Coop*

Meika – Paula Dean IS a nut case! She’s insane with all that butter and shortening in everything. Yuck.

Brit – I think I watch only for the meltdowns…’cause they always come!

Leave a Reply

