Modified Smash

14 07 2008

After Mademoiselle Babs O’Leary challenged  some of us to join her Smash course, I finally joined the local YMCA and put away the chocolate.  Is that really all it took? I’ve always enjoyed working out…but I enjoy eating a little bit more.

For the month of July I’ve lost 4 pounds, which is a good start.  The real test was when I tried on some jeans fresh outta the dryer!  They went on a little more smoothly.  I’ve been trying to go to the Y 4 times a week, but recently it’s been more like 3.  I make sure to do 30-45 minutes of cardio (broken up into 15 minute sets) and upper or lower body workouts.  I always do crunches at home daily and about 40 lunges.  Some things are a priority.  I know what I need to do.  I had little motivation before.  Now I’m totally Teams Babs and Team Steph (50 million pound challenge) and we’re all getting healthier for 2009.

Why ‘modified smash’?  Well I still haven’t read the book that would tell me exactly what I should(n’t) be eating.  I’ve just made a point to stay away from avocados, white potatoes and white rice/pasta.  I’ve found some awesome new ways to get adequate protein and I’ve cut costs by not stopping by 6Bucks for those $5 lattes.  It’s going really well.  I’m proud of myself!

Anyone else on an OSAG, Smash or 50 million pound challenge?  How’s it going?

PS – 16 days left in Atlanta.

Actions

Information

5 responses

14 07 2008
brran1

I’m on OSAG. Have been since the beginning of the year. My OSAG mainly focuses on my eating way healthier than I used to. I can honestly say that it’s not as bad as I thought it would be. Now all I need to do is get my behind into a gym and ya boy will be all slim, trim and sexy. My bad. That should say sexier. LOL lemme stop before I get another txt from you.

I may be staying in ATL until mid-August *crosses fingers*, so we’ll definitely have to link up a couple more times before we both leave.

15 07 2008
B

Giiiirl, I don’t know all these terms but I am on my way to loosin’ weight. So far I’ve done 6 pounds in 3 weeks. I’m eating better and like you “trying” to make it to the gym at least 3 times a week. I can’t say I like it but I’m going to looove the results. Good luck with your ventures!

16 07 2008
steph

yeah… i’m trying. i packed a workout bag and put it in the trunk of my car like 3 weeks ago (its still there for next week). i ate oatmeal this morning and i try (TRY) to snack during the day so i won’t eat big meals. i back slid and had wings and fries from the underground the other day. dude, my stomach couldn’t have disagreed with my meal plan more!

17 07 2008
*Coop*

Brran – Healthy eating is the new hustle. Why is it so hard??? Maybe I’ll see you Friday night.

Brit – My bad. OSAG = Operation Shrink A Gut ((c) alwaysfunkyfresh.wordpress.com.
Good for you and your 6lb lost! Work it girlie!!

steph – We gotta get that stuff outta the trunk. And you know all 5 Points food is the devil. The healthiest thing down there is probably that rice bowl from the place on Decatur next to Pixels. I do miss Rosa’s pizza.

18 07 2008
Babs

Yay you!

Leave a Reply

